Especially for G

My good friend G has recently celebrated 30th anniversary of her marriage, so I want to send her and her husband my greetings here on my blog too. I want to thank you for emanating the positive energy from your blog, and must say that I developed a great admiration for your writing style ever since I read the post about incident with Storioni violin :)

My dear friend, I want to offer you few songs in your native language as a present. I don’t have idea how often do you speak or hear Hungarian language, but I reckoned you would be delighted to hear some songs. They are all sung by my favourite singer Magdolna Ruzsa, I don’t understand the words, but I fell deeply in love with the colour of her singing.

Magdolna Rúzsa – Felix Lajko – Még azt mondják

This one is folk song. Lajko Felix, the famous violin virtuoso, is playing on zither.

Magdolna Ruzsa – Végső vallomás

Beautiful ballad, I wish I could know the words :)

Magdi Ruzsa – Máté Péter – Most elsz

Translation by Zadia75:
Time is melting like a pale iceflower
and evanescent happiness will come to the end.
You are standing there alone, like a leaf on the top of the hill
sleepy moonlight greets you, and the wind blows you away.

But in the meantime there is hope, every minute celebrates
for there is always hope, you must believe, so believe it.
refr:
You are living NOW, take care to do it well
because your smallest mistake will avange itself.
You are living now, be happy for the summer is beautiful
and that you have somebody who’s waiting for you
and embraces you.

And finally here is the first song I ever heard of her. It was Hungarian entry of ESC competition this year. When I heard the song Unsubstantial Blues, it won me over so much, that I immediately took the mobile phone and voted for her. Song is in English so everybody can understand. Here it is, enjoy!

Eurovision SC Final 2007 – Hungary – Magdi Ruzsa

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Especially for G”

  1. uneromaineaparis Says:

    Happy anniversary then! :-)

  2. suburbanlife Says:

    Thank you so very much for this lovely post, Dejan. What a wonderful singer this Magdi Ruzsa is. great colour in her voice. Especially the first song is remarkable, and I have listened to it several times. The interplay between the singer and the zither – wow! The title translates roughly as “They still say” and the song is so much a poem with brilliant sound pyrotechnics. I can understand why you voted for the blues song in English – it is a very rich, biting kind of blues, and I also like it. :-) G

  3. dreams.corner Says:

    Those two songs you mention are my favourites too (1st and last), actually that song with zither I am always listening again and again. Magnificent!

Leave a Reply

